Seasons for the Northern Hemisphere, 2009

 
Seasons

Related Links

  • Vernal Equinox: Mar. 20, 7:44 a.m. EDT (11:44 UT*), Sun enters sign of Aries; spring begins.
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 1:45 a.m. EDT (5:45 UT*), Sun enters sign of Cancer; summer begins.
  • Autumnal Equinox: Sept. 22, 5:18 p.m. EDT (21:18 UT*), Sun enters sign of Libra; fall begins.
  • Winter Solstice: Dec. 21, 12:47 p.m. EST (17:47 UT*), Sun enters sign of Capricorn; winter begins.

*Universal time (UT), also known as Greenwich mean time (GMT). See Astronomy for a conversion table of universal time.


Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Did you know?
56.7% of all American households own a dog.

stay connected

Sign up for our free email newsletters and receive the latest advice and information on all things parenting.

Enter your email address to sign up or manage your account.

Facebook icon Twitter icon Follow Us on Pinterest

editor’s picks

highlights

7 Home Remedies to Soothe Cold & Flu Symptoms
The AAP does not recommend giving over-the-counter cough and cold medicines to children under 4, so treating children's cold and flu symptoms naturally can be the best course of action. Read about some home remedies that might help.

Kindergarten Readiness App Wins Gold
Our Kindergarten Readiness app won the Gold Award of Excellence in the educational category at the 2014 Communicator Awards. This valuable checklist comes with games and activities to help your child practice the essential skills she needs for kindergarten. Download the Kindergarten Readiness app today!

11 Awesome Thanksgiving Games & Activities for Families
Looking for fun Thanksgiving Day activities for the whole family? Check out 11 kid-friendly indoor and outdoor activities that will bring your family together in the spirit of the holiday.

Find Today's Newest & Best Children's Books!
Looking for newly released books for your child? Try our new Book Finder tool to search for new books by age, type, and theme, and create reading lists for kids!