Seasons for the Northern Hemisphere, 2012


Related Links

  • Vernal Equinox: Mar. 20, 1:14 A.M. EDT (05:14 UT*), Sun enters sign of Aries; spring begins.
  • Summer Solstice: June 20, 7:09 P.M. EDT (23:09 UT*), Sun enters sign of Cancer; summer begins.
  • Autumnal Equinox: Sept. 22, 10:49 A.M. EDT (14:49 UT*), Sun enters sign of Libra; fall begins.
  • Winter Solstice: Dec. 21, 7:11 A.M. EDT (11:11 UT*), Sun enters sign of Capricorn; winter begins.

*Universal time (UT), also known as Greenwich mean time (GMT). See Astronomy for a conversion table of universal time.

Did you know?
After Greenland, New Guinea is the world's largest island.


Creative Art Ideas for Every Age
Creating art as a child has endless developmental benefits! We've partnered with Shutterfly to bring you imaginative art projects to keep your Monet learning at every age and stage.

Find Today's Newest & Best Children's Books!
Looking for newly released books for your child? Try our new Book Finder tool to search for new books by age, type, and theme, and create reading lists for kids!

7 Tips for Managing School-Related Anxiety
Is your child feeling intense school-related stress and anxiety? Learn the signs of anxiety disorders and get tips for managing academic stress.

Ready for Kindergarten?
Try our award-winning Kindergarten Readiness app! This easy-to-use checklist comes with games and activities to help your child build essential skills for kindergarten. Download the Kindergarten Readiness app today!

stay connected

Sign up for our free email newsletters and receive the latest advice and information on all things parenting.

Enter your email address to sign up or manage your account.

Facebook icon Facebook icon Follow Us on Pinterest

editor’s picks