Seasons for the Northern Hemisphere, 2013

 
Seasons

Related Links

  • Vernal Equinox: Mar. 20, 7:02 A.M. EDT (11:02 UT*), Sun enters sign of Aries; spring begins.
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 1:04 A.M. EDT (05:04 UT*), Sun enters sign of Cancer; summer begins.
  • Autumnal Equinox: Sept. 22, 4:44 P.M. EDT (20:44 UT*), Sun enters sign of Libra; fall begins.
  • Winter Solstice: Dec. 21, 1:11 P.M. EDT (17:11 UT*), Sun enters sign of Capricorn; winter begins.

*Universal time (UT), also known as Greenwich mean time (GMT). See Astronomy for a conversion table of universal time.


Information Please® Database, © 2007 Pearson Education, Inc. All rights reserved.

Did you know?
Contrary to popular belief, only 30% of the Sahara is made up of sand.

stay connected

Sign up for our free email newsletters and receive the latest advice and information on all things parenting.

Enter your email address to sign up or manage your account.

Facebook icon Twitter icon Follow Us on Pinterest

editor’s picks

highlights

Top 10 Holiday Gifts for Teachers
Offer a genuine "thank you" to your child's teacher halfway through the school year. Give one of these extra-nice holiday gifts for teachers.

Kindergarten Readiness App Wins Gold
Our Kindergarten Readiness app won the Gold Award of Excellence in the educational category at the 2014 Communicator Awards. This valuable checklist comes with games and activities to help your child practice the essential skills she needs for kindergarten. Download the Kindergarten Readiness app today!

Top Family Movies in Theaters for the Holidays
Taking the kids to the movies is a special family treat for the holidays! Don't miss 2014's best family films in theaters from Thanksgiving through Christmas.

Find Today's Newest & Best Children's Books!
Looking for newly released books for your child? Try our new Book Finder tool to search for new books by age, type, and theme, and create reading lists for kids!